An excellent article by Laura McAlister

If you have not read anything by Laura, go across and have a look.  This last post is on the obedience to the unchnaging teachings of the Church.  Well worth a read.

If I Were Founding a Church, I’d Have Women Priests Too. But I’m Not.
17 Nov 2014 10:12 pm | Laura McAlister

cardinal o’malley

Well, this ought to upset a few people!

In an interview, Sean Cardinal O’Malley, the Archbishop of Boston has said that

If I were founding a church, I’d love to have women priests. But Christ founded it, and what he has given us is something different.

Well, if I were founding a church, I’d have women priests too.

I’d have lots of other things too like married priests, liturgies by candlelight only, a sacrament for consecrated religious, a tax on failing to laugh at puns, my own palace, and an International ‘Everyone Wears Tartan’ Day.

But I’m not about to found my own church.

Neither is Cardinal O’Malley.

He may be an white-bearded, fatherly Franciscan bishop in Boston and I’m just a bored student procrastinating on an essay and listening to Meghan Trainor (no judgment, people!) but we are both members of the Body of Christ and obedient children of the Church.

Read the whole thing here

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

