Ordination 19th October 2013

_MG_3144 This is my Ordination day last weekend.  It was the culmination of a long journey, much faith, patience, and trust in the Lord.  I would like share the following thank you speech.

It is with a joyful heart, but also with some trepidation, that I stand before you now as the newest priest in the Catholic Church.  My lifelong prayers are answered today, by our beloved Lord, whose call to serve, I heard many years ago.

Bishop Christopher and Msgr Harry, I am deeply aware and appreciative, of your paternal love and care.  Permit me to express my heartfelt thanks to you both for your prayerful support, and encouragement, they have been most welcome in what has been a long, and sometimes difficult journey.

I thank Fr Andrew Wise who has aided, advised, encouraged, tutored, and walked beside me in preparation for today.  His friendship, and support have been of immense benefit, and to which I will always be grateful.

Special thanks to my fellow priests in the Ordinariate who have walked this way before me, and who have been an inspiration me, and for their advice and support.  I also thank the Priests of the Diocese of Sale who I first met at the inservice last month, it has been great to get to know them and for them to get to know me.

A special mention must be to the choir and organist, who have made this occasion special.  It has been greatly appreciated.

As I look around, I see many friends, and supporters, the Maffra Cenacle, my RCIA class, my fellow parishioners of Maffra, and the people of the Cathedral Parish.  Your welcome, your prayers, your questions, and your genuine regard for us has been immense.  On behalf of myself, and my Ordinariate parishioners, thank you.

And now, something almost unique coming from the mouth of a Catholic priest, I would like to thank my wife Carmel.  When Anglicorum Coetibus was announced Carmel and I sat down and we decided together that I should submit my dossier, and step out in faith and see what would happen.  Carmel has stood by my side, with a great deal of patience, love and understanding. I thank God for sending such a pillar of strength and companion in my life. Her love has already left an indelible mark in my heart..   A priest wife has a special place in the life of a parish.  She is the confidante, the support person, the encourager, the one people go to, sometimes even before they come to her husband.  Carmel’s ministry is therefore special, and one I appreciate more and more as time goes by.

Also, you may notice that I am wearing red and black socks, Essendon colours, in memory of Fr John Allen, the last priest to pass away here in Sale Diocese, a fervent Bombers supporter.

Many thanks everyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ordination 19th October 2013

  1. Thank you Fr. KEN for your reflection, it was very very heart warming for me to read this. May GOD bless you in your ministry, and the people you minister to. I will keep you in my prayers, and ask you to remember me at the altar of the LORD. In JESUS name, FR. Bill H.

Leave a Reply

